Donuts!

2 Aug

I have not been able to stop thinking about donuts for the past few weeks.  I believe any normal person would have fulfilled their craving by now but there is one small problem, the donuts in Switzerland do not have sugar in them.  Okay, they do have sugar but no more than one tablespoon per 25 donuts. I have often bought donuts here to savor a craving for sugar only to be severely disappointed. I’ve now learned my lesson.

In the beginning of September we will be in San Francisco. I have already taken note of the top bakeries’ names and locations. In addition,  to the names and locations of the bakeries located closest to our hotel. This afternoon as I was deciding what to make for dinner I realized I did not want to make dinner. I wanted to make donuts! Sorry Christian!

I went to http://foodgawker.com and typed in ‘donuts’. As my mouth was watering, I knew I was making the right decision.

I decided on a recipe  for BAKED DONUTS 

Here are my donuts in the making:

And here is the finished product. Half glazed, half cinnamon sugar:

Maybe I should have fried them instead of baking them or maybe I just need to wait for the real deal in the US, but these donuts did not please my donut craving.  The texture was almost there but not quite and the icing was completely off.  For that reason, I will not post the recipe.

Of course the donuts were sweet.  Consequently,  they didn’t last to see the next day.

3 Responses to “Donuts!”

  1. Sherri Lee August 2, 2011 at 2:21 pm #

    So funny! This reminds me of a story Joe’s mom always tells about when she was pregnant with Joe. Every time she had a Dr. appointment, she would go to HyVee afterward and eat an entire dozen of glazed donuts!

    • jkurek7 August 2, 2011 at 2:34 pm #

      MMMMM glazed donuts! Well Christian did help me eat them. They were dinner after all 😉

  2. mellykm August 2, 2011 at 5:00 pm #

    hahah! they are super cute 🙂

Leave a Reply

